Go to content Go to global Navigation Bar Go to footer


All Menu Open
About Prosecution

About Prosecution

Organization of the Prosecutors’ Offices

1 Supreme Prosecutors’ Office, 6 High Prosecutors’ Offices, 18 District Prosecutors’ Offices and 42 Branch Prosecutors’ Offices

Organization of the Prosecutors' Offices

View Larger Image

The Supreme Prosecutors’ Office

which stands at the top of our organizational hierarchy, is located in Seoul. Its duties include directing and supervising investigation and operations of all other Prosecutors’ Offices across the country. The Prosecutor General handles all affairs and directs all staff members of the Prosecutors’ Offices.

The High Prosecutors’ Offices

located in Seoul, Daejeon, Daegu, Busan, and Gwangju, handle and maintain appellate cases under the supervision of the Chief Prosecutors. The Offices also lead state and administrative litigations.

District and Branch Prosecutors’ Offices

District Prosecutors’ Offices are located in the Central, Eastern, Southern, Northern, and Western Seoul, and in Uijeongbu, Incheon, Suwon, Chuncheon, Daejeon, Cheongju, Daegu, Busan, Ulsan, Changwon, Gwangju, Jeonju, and Jeju. Branch Offices are located within their respective jurisdictions in order to better handle the responsibility of their respective District Prosecutors’ Office. The District or Branch Prosecutors’ Offices are divided into two sections: investigation and prosecution, where prosecutors and staff work as a team, and secretariat, where administrative work is handled. These departments are allocated based on their area of expertise such as Criminal, Special Investigation, Criminal Trial, Public Security, and Narcotics & Organized Crime Investigation Department. Throughout Korea, wherever there are people, prosecutors can be found assisting citizens to live in a safe environment by judging between right and wrong with fairness and accuracy.